Oh my, what’s a Literary Agent?

Oh my, what’s a Literary Agent? Sounds intriguing. What’s that you say? Someone who will help me find a publisher, for a price. Yikes. I’ll stay away from that then. LOL

Okay. In an effort to keep the gusto going, I’ll be reposting reviews from Never Ceese and Forever Richard . . . just because. My first one to go up is by far my favorite and most coveted. It comes from Nicholas Grabowsky whose own writing as earned praise from the likes of Clive Barker and Stephen King. This is Nicholas’ review of Never Ceese:

Never Ceese
S D Enterprises
ISBN: 9780976994701

First, some fun and facts:

When my office received this book, a handsome hardcover from Journey Stone Creations, and it found its way to my hands, I looked it over thoroughly and sent author Sue Dent an email confirming its receipt. On an odd note, the wolf on its cover was exactly the same wolf on my computer screen’s wallpaper, and I held one up to the other amused. I’d been made aware of Sue’s existence while browsing through that vast social bird’s nest called Myspace, we corresponded a few times, and here I have her novel as a result. I was particularly drawn to it because it boasted traditional Protestant Christian-inclined values and overtones so much so that even Christian book stores should welcome it. And it’s a horror novel, in essence. About vampires and werewolves.

Well, well.

Back during what would become my last years of preaching and active church-going worship, I originally set out to complete my first horror novel as a Christian allegory. And I wasn’t the only one doing it. Nowadays, though I’ve never since then and to this day was inclined to check out what’s going on in anything peddled as Christian/Suspense/Supernatural or even stepped into a Christian book store (that I recall), I’m aware of some good writing in itself going on there. The current trend of Last Days apocalyptic fiction is at an all-time high, that I know, and in spite of entire communities banning Harry Potter from libraries, C.S. Lewis-type fantasies seem to have become an increasingly popular trend also in that market.

But enough of that, and my sudden editorial lapse by no means suggests Never Ceese is churchy. Yes, the storyline carries with it a cover-to-cover essence of biblical morality and overall themes of redemption through want and sacrifice, and there is absolutely nothing about its content that I can imagine would incline parents to object to their young teens reading it. I think parents and teens alike would be utterly thrilled to read it, which brings us now to the basics without beating around the bush any further.

I simply can’t give Sue Dent enough praise for this work. I truly adored it. It read like the work of a master storyteller, its narrative virtually flawless. At first it seemed like it was going to be a period piece, and throughout that portion of the book it was atmospheric and foreboding.

The approach Dent takes is that werewolves and vampires are essentially human beings carrying a curse which strips them of almost any hope of redemption, salvation, and most of the popular basic rules regarding their nature apply, save that vampires themselves are undead in predominant lore. Ceese, or Cecilia, has the werewolf curse and has been wandering the earth in wolf form for a few hundred years or so because of it. She is summoned by an aging friend who lives in an isolated English castle whose resident vampire, Richard, has cared for her for a long time. Fearful of the knowledge that if he should feed on a human being his curse would be absolute, he instead feeds on the blood of the goats of local herdsmen or blood he purchases off the internet. Before she dies, the friend sends Ceese and Richard to New York in pursuit of a possible cure for their curses via stem cell research, where an evil university professor awaits their arrival in an obsessive search for the power of eternal life.

This is Sue Dent’s first work, and I am very proud of her. Very imaginative, stylistic, and highly entertaining, she excels without compromise to personal belief and the learned expertise it takes to write so well. I highly recommend it, and I can’t recommend it enough.

Leave a Reply

