Caution: advert!

Shameless self-promotion seems to be an avenue that works well for many authors. I can’t say that I’d never do this as I’m quite good at it. To be fair however, my shameless self-promotion didn’t get my debut novel Never Ceese short-listed for a Bram Stoker award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel nor did it get me voted book club choice for the month of April 2007 at the American Christian Fiction Writers association. Thanks to all who loved my story and made this possible. ((hugs))

Honestly, in retrospect, I can’t even say that shameless self-promotion was actually necessary. Better safe than sorry though. 😉

So onto the sequel, Forever Richard. With such a grand start with my first novel (okay it took me a little over a year and a half to get where it is now,) I decided to forgo a little of the shameless self-promotion on my second book. Surely those readers who were so taken, according to reviews, would read Forever Richard and report with equal zeal. Perhaps the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance** would allow me to tour again since my first novel hit number one on Tecnorati the first time they allowed me in.

While reviews are coming in, and thank-you very much for those who’ve left one, I’m hard pressed to say shameless self-promotion isn’t necessary. However, despite what one thinks, shameless self-promotion takes time and I’m a bit busy writing my third installment in my Thirsting for Blood Series, Cyn No More.

Do remember that even though many of my readers are from the niche market CBA and ECPA publishers serve and is oftentimes called Christian Fiction, a term used to define work put out by affiliated publishers, my work is not targeted fiction. There’s your incentive to run out in buy it.

It’s written to appeal to everyone. Granted it probably won’t but I try. 🙂

I do apologize once again to my CBA and ECPA readers but until the bigger Christian Booksellers (affiliated stores) open their doors to anything other than targeted fiction, you won’t find me in those outlets, on-line or otherwise. Smaller Christian bookstores seem to be fine with placing my books but they certainly won’t unless people are asking.

Funny how that works.

So say it once, say it twice, say it three times but more that that, buy my books.

Forever Richard and Never Ceese and soon to be released Cyn No More. You won’t regret it, I promise. 🙂

   

**Anyone can tour CFBA but now it costs $500 and you have to provide books to what could end up being close to 50 bloggers. When I toured I simply had to provide the books. The other stipulation is that if an author isn’t affiliated (ahem, that would be me) the book will be evaluated for “appropriateness” according to CBA and ECPA standards or in my case re-evaluated as Spring Arbor has already deemed both of my books “appropriate” for the Christian market. So even if the money wasn’t an issue (of course the money is an issue,) having my work re-evaluated when it’s already been deemed “appropriate” is.

Leave a Reply

