Karina’s Take on Newsletters and Her Experiment

One thing I’m hearing more and more about as a publicity tool is to have a newsletter. I think this can be both good and bad–I’ve seen newsletters that are little more than organized blogs; some that are All About Me; and some the pretend to be useful but are all a big ad. (They give you a tease of a topic then tell you to buy the book, buy the class, etc. in order to get real information.)

It’s also harder for the fiction writer. I really don’t think a newsletter is useful unless you are either wildly popular–in which case, why are you putting that work into a newsletter instead of your next novel?–or you don’t have enough material to sustain a newsletter; in which case it’s the All About Me/Ads thing again.

However, I have a universe that I call DragonEye, PI. the main characters are a dragon detective, Vern, and his mage/nun partner, Sister Grace. They solve mysteries, battle evil, save the universes… It’s a ton of fun to write in, so I have several stories and two novels coming out so far. However, I am working with a small press, so the chances of my being “discovered” and becoming a smash hit without a lot of effort are slim to none. I’ll need to develop my following, and I have a well-established enduring world to pull from. I think I have the right ingredients for a newsletter.

Thus, I’ve started a newsletter about my DragonEye, PI universe that I love to write about. A Dragon’s Eye View comes out bi-monthly and includes a short article from me, a rant from Vern, Faerie Facts and special offers. It’s available to DragonEye, PI members, so sign up today.

In the inaugural issue:

* How Karina came up with the idea for DragonEye, PI
* Vern rants about human misconceptions regarding dragons
* Vern’s explanation of the Faerie World (from Magic, Mensa and Mayhem, coming March 2009 from Swimming Kangaroo)
* Special offers and events

Sneak Peak:

* I am not a fire hazard. I can control my fire better than you can control your bowels, thank you very much. Also, it took me over 800 years of service to earn my fire back–I am not going to lose it because you annoyed me, forgot the title of my book, called me a dinosaur, whatever. I can deal with you in other ways.

I’ll try to let you know how successful the newsletter is in drawing readers, generating feedback, etc. In the meantime, I hope you’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

